Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 11-25-2012, 01:43 AM
Banned

Default Static and humidity.

i'm confused over the humidity settings in my apartment. I have a climate master - I assume combo furnace, hot water on demand and humidifier.

The static shocks are starting to hurt like heck, touch any light switch and I can see the arc. The humidistat shows the lower the temp outside, the lower the humidity setting. but everything I read, the humidity should be higher as it gets cold and dry.

Whats the reality here, go buy a humidifier?

Last edited by silverdoctor; 11-25-2012 at 01:57 AM. Reason: pic added
Old 11-25-2012, 01:57 AM

turn the humidifier up, in slow increments, until you find the sweet spot. as it gets colder, watch your windows. when they start to condensate, you're to humid. if you are looking for a flow through type humid for your furnace, I strongly recommend a general aire 1042.
Old 11-25-2012, 02:02 AM
Banned

I don't own the place and can't modify anything. The humidifier is an americanaire unit. The humidistat is set to 40% as shown in the pic, no condensation.

Think i'm more curious to know why the humidistat suggests the lower the temp, the lower the percent humidity. I'll kick it to 45% to see what happens.
Old 11-25-2012, 02:23 AM