Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 01-15-2020, 04:45 PM

Default Surf fishing: Cabo San Lucas or Belize

My buddy and I are planning a fishing trip this April. We would like to do a combination of surf fishing and charters. Am looking for your experience as to which area is better or if you have had good experience fishing from shore. It’s the shore/surf fishing I am most interested in. I have done research here for Cabo and Belize charters. BEL
Old 01-16-2020, 07:58 AM

April sounds early for roosters in the surf on the cabo side, but I am no expert I have just farted around on vacation a few times. Check the fishing calendars.
Old 01-16-2020, 09:10 AM

Roosters is one of the species I would love to catch. I have a small Tarpon (25lbs)under my belt from Belize. We are tending towards Cabo as the surf fishing seems better. BEL
Old 01-16-2020, 01:54 PM

I've been to both Cabo and Belize, but only fished in Belize very briefly on a self-guided basis from shore, and for an extended period with a private charter.

Belize: from what I could tell, most of the good fishing requires guides or charters, since you'll want good access to mangrove flats and what not if you want to pursue the triple slam of bonefish, tarpon, and permit. I did some reef fishing off the charter and it wasn't super interesting. From shore I was able to fish from some docks, but those are usually reserved for hotel/resort guests and the species were about the same as those found in reef areas. I was able to kayak fish a bit in the area between shore and the barrier reef, but did not have much luck.

I'd suggest short fishing in Cabo, even though I've never tried it. I've certainly heard of and seen videos of some giant roosters getting landed from shores somewhere in Baja California.
Old 01-17-2020, 01:24 PM