Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 07-14-2011, 01:42 PM

Question Best Poacher Story?

Hey y'all,
I'm assuming a few of you have come across a few poachers in your day. I certainly have. So my question is; what is your most exciting poacher story?
Here's mine haahha:
So I was fishing the Cowichan River on Vancouver island, and I pulled up in the car and these two guys were fishing for rainbow trout/steelhead.
So I walk up to them (for a moment they were scared that I was a cop), and ask if they've caught anything yet. And they claim that they have. So I ask them what they are using, and they give me the answer "Yo man, the good stuff". So my gut gets going and I feel a little suspicious.
So I start fishing beside them and I see that they are using cured salmon eggs (And this was a C&R fishery with a bait ban in effect). I look over and they noticed that I knew. So they start asking me about where I'm from and all. After a while they had a pile of maybe 8-10 WILD rainbow trout.
After I noticed that their pile was so huge they broke out a bunch of weed and started to smoke it. After being offered (and rejecting it) I thought it was time to pack up. But for some reason they chose to book it out of there before me...
And I know you guys are thinking right now; why didn't I call RAPP. Well the problem was I didn't have a cell phone and I wouldn't have had service. Quite an adventure!
I'm curious to hear yours!
Cheers,
AF
Old 07-14-2011, 01:46 PM

i love the cowichan run, many steel and salmon and big browns as well, its a great system on the island love tubbing it, hate idiiots poaching it next time throw em in
Old 07-14-2011, 01:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by best guide shawn homeniuk View Post
i love the cowichan run, many steel and salmon and big browns as well, its a great system on the island love tubbing it, hate idiiots poaching it next time throw em in