Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 07-14-2011, 05:30 PM

Default New to bow river

hey dudes, im new to fishing in the river and only have a 7 foot spin rod. I live in the nw of calgary and I am looking for some good close spots to start out. Im much more confident in lakes then rivers. i hear rapala countdowns and mepps are dependable? is that true?

any advice would be appreciated !
thanks
Old 07-14-2011, 06:46 PM

Welcome to Alberta Outdoorsmen dude.

7 foot spinning rod medium/light action will do just fine. Spool it with 8lb test or 6lb test mono or fluorocarbon, I recommend fluorocarbon since it's more invisible during daylight. Lures, yeah, countdown raps, husky jerks, floating, etc will all take trout. Just not ones too big, around 3" and smaller will catch fish, I've caught a few hogs on larger 41/2" floating raps. Spinners you'll catch trout and whitefish. My favorite spinners are panther martins, but rooster tails, mepps, and blue fox will all do the job. Any lures 3" and under will work though. Assorted streamer flies with a few splitshot will work too, and spoons. In the NW you can try anywhere downstream from the bearspaw dam, always some big fish in there to be had. Since you're used to fishing lakes, you'll probably lose some lures to snags. If you wanna avoid that with rapalas, try the floating kind. If you're wondering about anything more specific just shoot me a PM.
Old 07-14-2011, 10:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christofficer View Post
Welcome to Alberta Outdoorsmen dude.