Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 04-16-2007, 12:01 AM
sideshowkev

Default Dog Trainers???

I was wondering if anyone knew of a good dog trainer in the Calgary Area. I have a 1 yr old yellow lab that I would like to get started properly as a hunting dog (mainly retrieving)
I know a bunch of you are going to say "do it yourself" but I am a contractor and see enough of what happens when an unskilled person tries to save a buck and do it themselves! Just looking for a few suggestions for a professional trainer here in Calgary.

thanks,

Kevin & Chevy
Old 04-16-2007, 12:06 AM
Duk Dog

Try Ringneck Kennels in Strathmore - Maunty & Elizabeth Karp at 934-2377.
Old 04-16-2007, 12:22 AM
Jamie Hunt

What Duk said X 10

Monty and his wife have been very good to me. I haven’t purchased a dog yet, but I know where I will be dealing.
They spent 3 hours with me last Nov. Answered all my noob questions, gave me a show of what a well trained dog can do and most importantly he encouraged me to be as honest with myself about what I wanted and needed from a dog.
Then when a dog came up he thought might suite me he gave me a call to tell me about him. He wouldn’t have made a dime on the deal, but yet he thought this dog would be perfect for my situation.
Only problem was the owner wanted to much $$$ for the dog.
Might have been worth it to some people, just not me.

Jamie
BTW. I totally understand where you are coming from as far as the training goes. That’s exactly what I am looking for.
Plumbers Plumb and trainers train. Go with the Pros.
Old 04-16-2007, 06:04 AM
packhuntr