Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 07-26-2013, 12:52 PM

Default What to look for

I'm pretty new to fly fishing (picked up my rod last year) and I've mostly fished lakes to this point. I own a set of waders and would love to try out some streams/rivers. What exactly should I be looking for? Fast water/slow water? I know next to nothing about this facet of the sport
Old 07-26-2013, 01:01 PM

Dont be afraid to try all spots on the river.. i was shocked when i first started flyfishing last year, i caught a nice brown in about 2fow and i was just practising my casting!!

what type of fish are you targeting and where are you planning on fishing?

was gonna try to keep track but ive caught to many!!!
Old 07-26-2013, 06:02 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mranderson22 View Post
I'm pretty new to fly fishing (picked up my rod last year) and I've mostly fished lakes to this point. I own a set of waders and would love to try out some streams/rivers. What exactly should I be looking for? Fast water/slow water? I know next to nothing about this facet of the sport
I assume that you are fishing for trout.

The fish will move all over the river, depending on the time of year, and even time of day.

For spring, summer, and fall, current seams, riffles and tailouts are good bets. With a dry fly, the fish will usually stick to calmer flatter water (where they can see bugs on the surface).
Old 07-26-2013, 06:48 PM

Read a good book on where fish typically are in a river/creek. They can be anywhere but certain spots typically hold more fish such as where fast water meets slow, pools, riffles, undercut banks etc. After a few outings you get a eye for good holding water.
Old 07-26-2013, 11:32 PM