Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 09-28-2011, 10:44 AM

Default Fly Fishing In Winter

Well with winter on the way i have always heard people still fly fishing the bow and stauffer and below the dam, was wondering how do you keep your line from freezing up and water freezing in between your guides, can you fly fish in -20 weather?? as i have never tried this before, but if your dressed right i guess its possible. thankyou
Old 09-28-2011, 10:47 AM

I am interested in this as well, I love being outdoors in the winter, and if I can't hit the hill, I want to hit the river this year!
Old 09-28-2011, 10:53 AM

The Bow is incredible in the winter....fish school up heavy....20+ fish in a hole is possible. My best is 13 fish on 13 casts.
Minus 10 is my low temp limit, i vasilene my guides to help stop the popsicle syndrome.
Chinooks are so nice!!!!
Big stones are the ticket.
And you have the river to yourself
Old 09-28-2011, 10:58 AM

Winter is awesome. You find a deep hole and pull a streamer through real slow and big browns love it. There's stuff you can buy to put on your guides to stop them from clogging with ice, or you can use vaseline like chubb said but I dunno what effect that would have on your line if you're using floating. I haven't winter fished in about 3 years, I've felt intolerant of the cold as of late. Just wade least as possible, falling in the winter is deadly and the ice chunks can be even more deadly. Neoprene rules in winter time, stay away from breathables if you hate the cold.
Old 09-28-2011, 11:03 AM

To clean the ice I just dip my rod in the water for 5-10 seconds, the water is warmer than freezing. This way you don't screw up your fly line... as bad.... winter is brutal on your lines any little crack will turn into exposed core after a winter.