Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #631  
Old 01-24-2022, 11:38 AM
wallz wallz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 387
Default

While I await all the supplies I bought, new to getting into this game, I dream about how I will set up a loading bench.

Some great Ideas on here for sure. I may not get a spare room for a few years yet, so will have to come up with locking cabinets and set up in a basement corner. I do have a spare room planned, as the kids grow and move out, so the corner will have to do for a bit. Have to plan on things so I can still move into the spare room when time comes. The room has a narrower door, that is also short, but planning on a new steel door when the time comes, so may be able to go wider, but not taller.

I used to help dad reload 30 years ago, and time to get back into it. I have been planning to, for a few years, and finally just jumped in and order things, as factory ammo is hard to find. Still was able to find components for now, for the most part to start. Go figure.
Reply With Quote
  #632  
Old 01-24-2022, 04:36 PM
WinFwt WinFwt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 182
Default

Cleaned it up and reorganized in preparation for the new press.

It's like being a kid again waiting for Christmas...the anticipation is killing me!
Reply With Quote
  #633  
Old 01-25-2022, 07:37 PM
WinFwt WinFwt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 182
Default

Press arrived at dinner time yesterday, so reorganized things to accommodate it today. Moved the old press to the left as a dedicated decapping press and installed the new MEC in the old ones location.
Here's a pic of the reloading bench. Been in that location for the last 38+ years.

Reply With Quote
  #634  
Old 01-26-2022, 08:41 AM
marky_mark marky_mark is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,701
Default

Neck turned 100 22 creedmoor alpha brass
Seems like very good quality
Reply With Quote
  #635  
Old 01-26-2022, 08:55 AM
Flatlandliver's Avatar
Flatlandliver Flatlandliver is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Airdrie
Posts: 1,490
Default

Hi All
Got a weird one.

-New Tikka T3X 3006
-bolt disassembled for this
-bolt will not close on new loaded ammo (Barnes or Hornady) without a ‘push’
-fired brass from the gun is .004 shorter at the shoulder

Following the RCBS die instructions takes the brass back to what the loaded ammo shoulder length is and the bolt needs a “push” to chamber.

Just getting into reloading so have all the stuff to resize brass etc.

How bad is this?
What should be done if anything?
Reply With Quote
  #636  
Old 01-26-2022, 10:10 AM
marky_mark marky_mark is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatlandliver View Post
Hi All
Got a weird one.

-New Tikka T3X 3006
-bolt disassembled for this
-bolt will not close on new loaded ammo (Barnes or Hornady) without a ‘push’
-fired brass from the gun is .004 shorter at the shoulder

Following the RCBS die instructions takes the brass back to what the loaded ammo shoulder length is and the bolt needs a “push” to chamber.

Just getting into reloading so have all the stuff to resize brass etc.

How bad is this?
What should be done if anything?
How are you measuring this?
With a comparator?
Reply With Quote
  #637  
Old 01-26-2022, 10:12 AM
Flatlandliver's Avatar
Flatlandliver Flatlandliver is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Airdrie
Posts: 1,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marky_mark View Post
How are you measuring this?
With a comparator?
Yes. Hornady
And a stripped bolt to check the “jam”
Reply With Quote
  #638  
Old 01-26-2022, 10:19 AM
6.5 shooter's Avatar
6.5 shooter 6.5 shooter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Medicine Hat
Posts: 4,235
Default

Will sized brass with no bullet, chamber in the rifle?? If so then it is a overall length problem. IF the brass will not fit then it is a sizing problem. IF new factory ammo will not feed then it is a rifle problem.

Best I can give you with out more info.
__________________
Trades I would interested in:
- Sightron rifle scopes, 4.5x14x42mm or 4x16x42mm
especially! with the HHR reticle. (no duplex pls.)
- older 6x fixed scopes with fine X or target dot.
Reply With Quote
  #639  
Old 01-26-2022, 10:27 AM
Flatlandliver's Avatar
Flatlandliver Flatlandliver is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Airdrie
Posts: 1,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6.5 shooter View Post
Will sized brass with no bullet, chamber in the rifle?? No. If so then it is a overall length problem. IF the brass will not fit then it is a sizing problem. IF new factory ammo will not feed then it is a rifle problem.

Best I can give you with out more info.
The bolt will not drop on brass sized to the loaded brass shoulder to case end length. New factory ammo will not feed with pushing the bolt closed. Never noticed that it was happening until I stripped the ejector spring/pin from the bolt to check shoulder bump.
Fired brass is .004 shorter then factory ammo when measured with a comparator.

Thinking I just size the fired brass until I get a loose bolt drop?
Or just neck size?
Or What?

I have maybe 50 factory loaded rounds through the gun. No pressure signs etc on the brass.
Reply With Quote
  #640  
Old 01-26-2022, 11:17 AM
marky_mark marky_mark is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatlandliver View Post
The bolt will not drop on brass sized to the loaded brass shoulder to case end length. New factory ammo will not feed with pushing the bolt closed. Never noticed that it was happening until I stripped the ejector spring/pin from the bolt to check shoulder bump.
Fired brass is .004 shorter then factory ammo when measured with a comparator.

Thinking I just size the fired brass until I get a loose bolt drop?
Or just neck size?
Or What?

I have maybe 50 factory loaded rounds through the gun. No pressure signs etc on the brass.
Something is off
You shouldn’t be getting a shorter measurement after the brass is fired
The brass expands when ignition happens it doesn’t shrink

If it’s longer after it’s sized than you could have an incorrect expander ball on your die and it’s pulling it the brass outward as the brass is coming out of the die
Reply With Quote
  #641  
Old 01-26-2022, 12:25 PM
Flatlandliver's Avatar
Flatlandliver Flatlandliver is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Airdrie
Posts: 1,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marky_mark View Post
Something is off
You shouldn’t be getting a shorter measurement after the brass is fired
The brass expands when ignition happens it doesn’t shrink

If it’s longer after it’s sized than you could have an incorrect expander ball on your die and it’s pulling it the brass outward as the brass is coming out of the die
Agreed.
I shouldn’t be, but the gauge isn’t lying.
The body dia of the case has expanded but it is definitely .004 shorter measured at the shoulder once fired.
And I definitely have to “squeeze” the bolt shut to chamber a factory or a resized round. A fired case chambers easily.
Reply With Quote
  #642  
Old 01-26-2022, 01:32 PM
marky_mark marky_mark is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatlandliver View Post
Agreed.
I shouldn’t be, but the gauge isn’t lying.
The body dia of the case has expanded but it is definitely .004 shorter measured at the shoulder once fired.
And I definitely have to “squeeze” the bolt shut to chamber a factory or a resized round. A fired case chambers easily.
Very weird

Last edited by marky_mark; 01-26-2022 at 01:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #643  
Old 01-26-2022, 01:46 PM
pikergolf's Avatar
pikergolf pikergolf is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatlandliver View Post
Hi All
Got a weird one.

-New Tikka T3X 3006
-bolt disassembled for this
-bolt will not close on new loaded ammo (Barnes or Hornady) without a ‘push’
-fired brass from the gun is .004 shorter at the shoulder

Following the RCBS die instructions takes the brass back to what the loaded ammo shoulder length is and the bolt needs a “push” to chamber.

Just getting into reloading so have all the stuff to resize brass etc.

How bad is this?
What should be done if anything?
The bolt won't close on factory ammo? Or are the Barnes and Hornady reloads?
__________________
“One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce, and canonized those who complain.”

Thomas Sowell
Reply With Quote
  #644  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:00 PM
Flatlandliver's Avatar
Flatlandliver Flatlandliver is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Airdrie
Posts: 1,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pikergolf View Post
The bolt won't close on factory ammo? Or are the Barnes and Hornady reloads?
Factory box rounds. ELDx and TTSX.

I have to set up the FL sizing die to size the brass .002/.003 shorter then the factory brass for the bolt to close “on its own”.

If I had hair it would be all pulled out.
Reply With Quote
  #645  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:07 PM
marky_mark marky_mark is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,701
Default

And it was fine before?
Reply With Quote
  #646  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:08 PM
catnthehat's Avatar
catnthehat catnthehat is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ft. McMurray
Posts: 38,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatlandliver View Post
Factory box rounds. ELDx and TTSX.

I have to set up the FL sizing die to size the brass .002/.003 shorter then the factory brass for the bolt to close “on its own”.

If I had hair it would be all pulled out.
Not the first time I have heard that about Hornady and Barnes factory ammo.
My suggestion is to ignore that gauges you are using , just size the case until it cljusf closes ,and load the bullets. 010 off the lands for starters (or right at the bullet Cannelure if your bullets have one) and go from there .
If you have a chamber close to the SAAMI minimum spec and factory ammo at the max spec you are going to have issues .
Best to load to the individual rifle
Cat
__________________
Anytime I figure I've got this long range thing figured out, I just strap into the sling and irons and remind myself that I don't!
Reply With Quote
  #647  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:08 PM
Flatlandliver's Avatar
Flatlandliver Flatlandliver is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Airdrie
Posts: 1,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marky_mark View Post
And it was fine before?
Never noticed it before. Shot it, hunted with it. Thought the extra push with the bolt was from the ejector.
Reply With Quote
  #648  
Old 01-26-2022, 02:11 PM
Flatlandliver's Avatar
Flatlandliver Flatlandliver is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Airdrie
Posts: 1,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catnthehat View Post
Not the first time I have heard that about Hornady and Barnes factory ammo.
My suggestion is to ignore that gauges you are using , just size the case until it cljusf closes ,and load the bullets. 010 off the lands for starters (or right at the bullet Cannelure if your bullets have one) and go from there .
If you have a chamber close to the SAAMI minimum spec and factory ammo at the max spec you are going to have issues .
Best to load to the individual rifle
Cat
That’s where my head is at too. Listen to the bolt/barrel
Reply With Quote
  #649  
Old 01-27-2022, 08:10 AM
catnthehat's Avatar
catnthehat catnthehat is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ft. McMurray
Posts: 38,570
Default

After getting all of my gear covered with wet snow yesterday after a sudden squall, I have it all spread out on every square space I have in the shop, 4 guns torn apart drying. Equipment box empty and the contents drying put, what a mess!
However everything will go back in its place this morning and I will likely head out and do it all over again!
Cat
__________________
Anytime I figure I've got this long range thing figured out, I just strap into the sling and irons and remind myself that I don't!
Reply With Quote
  #650  
Old 01-28-2022, 09:02 AM
catnthehat's Avatar
catnthehat catnthehat is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ft. McMurray
Posts: 38,570
Default

it's a .223 type of morning
Cat
__________________
Anytime I figure I've got this long range thing figured out, I just strap into the sling and irons and remind myself that I don't!
Reply With Quote
  #651  
Old 01-28-2022, 10:51 AM
Ackleyman Ackleyman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Strathmore
Posts: 1,385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatlandliver View Post
The bolt will not drop on brass sized to the loaded brass shoulder to case end length. New factory ammo will not feed with pushing the bolt closed. Never noticed that it was happening until I stripped the ejector spring/pin from the bolt to check shoulder bump.
Fired brass is .004 shorter then factory ammo when measured with a comparator.

Thinking I just size the fired brass until I get a loose bolt drop?
Or just neck size?
Or What?

I have maybe 50 factory loaded rounds through the gun. No pressure signs etc on the brass.
Went thru similar situation, Fired brass , FL resized would not chamber. Screw the sizing die down and make sure the last part of the case is actually being sized, the instructions of backing die off 1/2 a turn is a bit much. Look at first 1/4" up from base of your brass and you will tell right away. My Whidden die for 6mm dasher is backed off 1/8th of a turn. Rounds chamber and eject perfectly.
Just a suggestion , i'm far from an expert. I was trying different things and over looked the obvious. Worked for me thks to a friend
Reply With Quote
  #652  
Old 01-30-2022, 04:51 PM
marky_mark marky_mark is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5,701
Default


Skimmed turn the necks and did all the brass prep for my 6GT and 22 creedmoor barrels
90gr atips and 109 gr bergers

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #653  
Old 01-30-2022, 05:22 PM
catnthehat's Avatar
catnthehat catnthehat is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ft. McMurray
Posts: 38,570
Default

After losing the bases on some 6mmBR brass I decided to pull the bullets on the remaing ones and trash them.
This particular lot of brass has been through 5 different rifles with about twice as many loadings as most get, so they don't owe me anything!
Loaded a different lot of 100 today, and they are onload #9
Cat
__________________
Anytime I figure I've got this long range thing figured out, I just strap into the sling and irons and remind myself that I don't!
Reply With Quote
  #654  
Old 01-30-2022, 05:38 PM
6MT's Avatar
6MT 6MT is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Parkland County
Posts: 972
Default

De-capped, wet tumbled, dried, F.L. sized, and neck flared almost 300 straight walled cases of 3 different calibers.
Reply With Quote
  #655  
Old 02-10-2022, 09:10 PM
6MT's Avatar
6MT 6MT is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Parkland County
Posts: 972
Default

Rolled up some .357mag coyote killers tonight. Might be going to help a farmer friend this weekend try and lessen the pack a bit.



Starline brass
CCI 550 SP magnum primers
Hornady XTP 125gr
TiteGroup 7.2gr
OAL: 1.590”
Winchester 1873 carbine (20”)
Reply With Quote
  #656  
Old 02-10-2022, 09:58 PM
catnthehat's Avatar
catnthehat catnthehat is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ft. McMurray
Posts: 38,570
Default

Loaded Some 244RemAI for this weekend now that our 1K tower is once again open!
Cat
__________________
Anytime I figure I've got this long range thing figured out, I just strap into the sling and irons and remind myself that I don't!
Reply With Quote
  #657  
Old 02-16-2022, 07:58 PM
6MT's Avatar
6MT 6MT is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Parkland County
Posts: 972
Default

Ranges can be gold mines. Here I am just finishing up some non-match rounds of 6.5CM. These cases are all range pick-ups (94 total). I strongly believe they are once fired. Tight primer pockets. And measuring the fire firmed cases indicate that they were not stout loads at all. They are various head-stamps…and only one is a small primer case.



My cost per round for these is around $.70. Gotta love it!
Reply With Quote
  #658  
Old 02-16-2022, 08:15 PM
huntinstuff's Avatar
huntinstuff huntinstuff is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 9,606
Default

Did 48 30-30 brass. Cleaned, decap, primed. Ready for some 150g with 32g or so of imr3031.....gonna play a bit with powder.... shot 1" groups at 100 the other day.
__________________
When you are born, you get a ticket to the Freak Show.
If you are born in Canada, you get a front row seat.
Reply With Quote
  #659  
Old 02-16-2022, 08:58 PM
catnthehat's Avatar
catnthehat catnthehat is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ft. McMurray
Posts: 38,570
Default

Loaded some ELDX bullets into the 244RemAI hunting rifle to test tomorrow, hope springs eternal!
Cat
__________________
Anytime I figure I've got this long range thing figured out, I just strap into the sling and irons and remind myself that I don't!
Reply With Quote
  #660  
Old 02-17-2022, 04:06 PM
gunluvr's Avatar
gunluvr gunluvr is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,597
Default

Loaded up 50 rnds. 22-250. 55gr. Sierra BTHP over 35gr. Varget. Gopher season's comin' !
__________________
Some days you're a bullet; some days you're a gopher.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.