Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 03-24-2012, 07:37 AM

Default Choosing fly line backing and fly line

Picked up a fly rod and reel (9ft 5wt) on thursday and now I need the line and backing. I'm new to fly fishing and would like to know what the decent to good brands are. What setups are you guys using?
Old 03-24-2012, 07:50 AM

I use Rio. I find it the best, or at least the best that I can find. I don't like waxy backings.
Old 03-24-2012, 08:09 AM

I like cortland 444 flyline. As far as backing goes just get whatever the shop you get your line from offers you.
Old 03-24-2012, 09:09 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickote316 View Post
Picked up a fly rod and reel (9ft 5wt) on thursday and now I need the line and backing. I'm new to fly fishing and would like to know what the decent to good brands are. What setups are you guys using?
Before you buy a random line< what kind of rod is it? whats the action?
Old 03-24-2012, 09:13 AM

Quote:
Are you fishing lakes? streams? rivers? what are your target species?

LC
Old 03-24-2012, 09:27 AM

Yes what kind of action?! If fast you might want to consider Sa GPX or Rio grand (I prefer gpx as grand has a longer head doesn't cast as nice for me, but does actually roll cast better). If medium or medium/fast rio gold is a great line. Make sure to keep your box and receipt as if there are any Problems within the year both those have a 1 year warrantee.
Old 03-24-2012, 09:52 AM

I pretty sure its a fast action. I'll double check when I get home. Ill probably be using it mostly on lakes but might take it out to the river sometimes. I bought it for trout. If I were to take it to the river then I would be targeting goldeye.
Old 03-24-2012, 09:54 AM