Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2013, 05:34 PM
jkind's Avatar
jkind jkind is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Red Deer, Alberta Canada
Posts: 213
Default GoPro WiFi Mod for Ice Fishing

I have used my GoPro to video me catching fish in my kayak and flyfishing on the river and use a 17+ year old Aqua-Vu for ice fishing. The Aqua-Vu is OK but I wanted to get higher resolution videos for ice fishing.

I mounted my GoPro to the Aqua-Vu camera and let it record until the battery was dead...the video was much clearer and in color (note: you need the dive housing or a flat lense for the GoPro to film underwater).

I wanted more control so I could record shorter clips and make the battery last longer but my GoPro wifi does not work underwater so I wrapped the wifi remote and the waterproof camera housing with wire wrap wire (10 or 12 wraps of the fine blue wire in the photo on the remote and housing) and ran 20' of RG174 antenna cable between the camera and remote.






I tested this setup by filling the my bathtub with water and submerging the GoPro in the tub and running the remote downstairs and it worked perfectly...now to get out on the ice to test it out in real world conditions
__________________
2019

Pike 18
Walleye 41
Perch 1
Lake Whitefish 77
Suckers
Lake Trout
Cutthroat Trout
Rainbow Trout 36
Goldeye
Rocky Mtn Whitefish

18 days fished
18 days fished from my Hobie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2013, 05:40 PM
bwackwabbit's Avatar
bwackwabbit bwackwabbit is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sylvan Lake
Posts: 1,685
Default

So does the app record video? On the phone end? And do you get a live preview (useable like an aquaview)?

I am very interested in this and want to do this w/the new GoPro Hero Black that has built in wifi.

Let us know how you make out.

Nice work!
__________________
Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2013, 05:53 PM
jkind's Avatar
jkind jkind is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Red Deer, Alberta Canada
Posts: 213
Default

I haven't tried it with the app yet...there is a few second delay over wifi so I use the Aqua-Vu for a viewfinder.
__________________
2019

Pike 18
Walleye 41
Perch 1
Lake Whitefish 77
Suckers
Lake Trout
Cutthroat Trout
Rainbow Trout 36
Goldeye
Rocky Mtn Whitefish

18 days fished
18 days fished from my Hobie
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2013, 11:42 PM
jkind's Avatar
jkind jkind is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Red Deer, Alberta Canada
Posts: 213
Default It works!!!!

Went to Gull today and tested this set up...works like a charm!
http://youtu.be/D35cof6_QII
__________________
2019

Pike 18
Walleye 41
Perch 1
Lake Whitefish 77
Suckers
Lake Trout
Cutthroat Trout
Rainbow Trout 36
Goldeye
Rocky Mtn Whitefish

18 days fished
18 days fished from my Hobie
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2013, 12:17 AM
BeeGuy BeeGuy is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: down by the river
Posts: 11,428
Default

sweet.

would be awesome somewhere with crystal clear water
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2013, 12:58 PM
madluk18 madluk18 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Peace River AB
Posts: 131
Default

Awesome video!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2013, 01:31 PM
BBJTKLE&FISHINGADVENTURES BBJTKLE&FISHINGADVENTURES is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fort Saskatchewan Ab
Posts: 8,927
Default

I wanna get one of these thing to attach to my net so as I go to land the fish I get a couple sweet pictures .anyone else do that ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2013, 05:20 PM
Off in the Bushes's Avatar
Off in the Bushes Off in the Bushes is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lethbridge
Posts: 1,375
Default

So you where able to control the camera via the remote, just by wrapping wire around the 2 transmitters/ recievers. And this transmitted the signal?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-03-2013, 05:29 PM
fish gunner fish gunner is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: on a mishn for fishn.
Posts: 8,791
Cool

Well done jknd. Great vid . Fantastic idea very clever.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-03-2013, 07:18 PM
jkind's Avatar
jkind jkind is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Red Deer, Alberta Canada
Posts: 213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Off in the Bushes View Post
So you where able to control the camera via the remote, just by wrapping wire around the 2 transmitters/ recievers. And this transmitted the signal?
Yes I wrapped the camera and the remote and then joined the wraps with 20' of RG174 Coax cable.
__________________
2019

Pike 18
Walleye 41
Perch 1
Lake Whitefish 77
Suckers
Lake Trout
Cutthroat Trout
Rainbow Trout 36
Goldeye
Rocky Mtn Whitefish

18 days fished
18 days fished from my Hobie
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-03-2013, 07:33 PM
Willowtrail's Avatar
Willowtrail Willowtrail is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 2,324
Default

Great looking video.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-03-2013, 07:39 PM
Sundancefisher's Avatar
Sundancefisher Sundancefisher is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Perchville
Posts: 14,654
Default

Great quality...crisp clear video...with fish to boot. Great job!
__________________
It is not the most intellectual of the species that survives; it is not the strongest that survives; but the species that survives is the one that is able best to adapt and adjust to the changing environment in which it finds itself. Charles Darwin
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-03-2013, 09:27 PM
Nova Nova is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SK
Posts: 714
Default

Nicely done. If Go-Pro refined the idea a bit they could really kick the competition presently on the market.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-03-2013, 09:41 PM
EZM's Avatar
EZM EZM is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 7,364
Default

That has to be the sharpest video I've seen for a portable set up. Nice job.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-31-2015, 11:28 AM
PlayDoh's Avatar
PlayDoh PlayDoh is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Strathmore/Calgary
Posts: 953
Default

I know this thread is old, but I thought I'd add my experiences for others that might find the thread and want to try it.
I first did as jkind did, but although it worked, I found using the wire wrap wire unnecessary. Also by just stripping the end of the RG174 to either 6.25 cm or 12.5 cm and taping or as I did Hot Gluing the one end to the GoPro rear door, and taping the other end to the iphone, ipad or other wifi device, it works a bit better.
Here is another 'how to' I ended up following.
http://paulillsley.com/GoPro_Underwa...tup/index.html
__________________
Theres a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-31-2015, 11:30 AM
PlayDoh's Avatar
PlayDoh PlayDoh is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Strathmore/Calgary
Posts: 953
Default

Not to mention the wire wrap wire cost me just under $20, which is ridiculous.
__________________
Theres a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-31-2015, 09:57 PM
jkind's Avatar
jkind jkind is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Red Deer, Alberta Canada
Posts: 213
Default

I am going to modify mine like this...that wire wrap wire is a pain!
__________________
2019

Pike 18
Walleye 41
Perch 1
Lake Whitefish 77
Suckers
Lake Trout
Cutthroat Trout
Rainbow Trout 36
Goldeye
Rocky Mtn Whitefish

18 days fished
18 days fished from my Hobie
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-01-2015, 03:40 PM
PlayDoh's Avatar
PlayDoh PlayDoh is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Strathmore/Calgary
Posts: 953
Default

Ya I never would have guessed it would work that easily, yet when I headed out to the lake I didn't wrap my phone with wire yet, and planned on doing it there. Yet it worked by just holding the wire to the phone.
I've read twice that the length you strip is important. Either 6.25 or 12.5 cm. 6.5 cm is the width of the GoPro but I went across and back with a tight turn. 13 cm is the width of the iPad mini I use. Put the wire just above the bottom of the iPad (above) speakers, and near the top of the GoPro.
I put the GoPro tripod mount onto the bottom of a plastic tobacco can, put 2 small u-bolts on the sides of the can near the top, and filled the can with rocks. Used a small diameter rope to the u-bolts and drop it down.
Once down there I drop a lure in a hole 2-3 feet away and then twist the rope a bit and just lift the can off the bottom so it will spin slowly and drop it down and wait for the delay to let me know if the lure is visible. If not another small lift. Works pretty well.
I probably never would have tried it if not for your post jkind. Thanks for sharing.
__________________
Theres a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-01-2015, 04:28 PM
Stinky Buffalo's Avatar
Stinky Buffalo Stinky Buffalo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: A bit North o' Center...
Posts: 6,710
Default

That is so awesome. Now I know what do with all my leftover wire-wrap wire from the Olden Days!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-01-2015, 08:08 PM
Brandonkop's Avatar
Brandonkop Brandonkop is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: BC/Alberta
Posts: 1,773
Default

Great idea I missed this thread when it was originally posted I'll have to see if I can do the same thing. I just usually leave it run and change the battery when it runs out. If you have to turn it on and off sometimes miss the good stuff since I don't have a camera and don't look down the hole, just use the Marcum.
__________________

The Fishing Doctors Adventures - You May Watch More Than You Bargained For, haha!
https://www.youtube.com/Brandonkop
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-13-2015, 08:10 AM
sanjuanworm sanjuanworm is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 658
Default

We tried this on the weekend. Works like a charm. Made our own bottom deployment system.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?featur...UO1Klv7U#t=112

Still working on the finer details. Vis wasn't the greatest but this is 26 ft deep.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-13-2015, 10:15 AM
sanjuanworm sanjuanworm is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 658
Default

I also like how you can hear him chomp down on the bait.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-03-2019, 06:09 PM
fishcommander fishcommander is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlayDoh View Post
I know this thread is old, but I thought I'd add my experiences for others that might find the thread and want to try it.
I first did as jkind did, but although it worked, I found using the wire wrap wire unnecessary. Also by just stripping the end of the RG174 to either 6.25 cm or 12.5 cm and taping or as I did Hot Gluing the one end to the GoPro rear door, and taping the other end to the iphone, ipad or other wifi device, it works a bit better.
Here is another 'how to' I ended up following.
http://paulillsley.com/GoPro_Underwa...tup/index.html
Thanx a lot for posting this information. Just tried my camera in the water and lost the signal immediately in the water. Rookie! Where did you get the wire?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-03-2019, 06:17 PM
jkind's Avatar
jkind jkind is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Red Deer, Alberta Canada
Posts: 213
Default

I bought mine at Kohen Electronics in Red Deer.
__________________
2019

Pike 18
Walleye 41
Perch 1
Lake Whitefish 77
Suckers
Lake Trout
Cutthroat Trout
Rainbow Trout 36
Goldeye
Rocky Mtn Whitefish

18 days fished
18 days fished from my Hobie
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-26-2019, 08:10 PM
fishcommander fishcommander is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 22
Default GoPro Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlayDoh View Post
I know this thread is old, but I thought I'd add my experiences for others that might find the thread and want to try it.
I first did as jkind did, but although it worked, I found using the wire wrap wire unnecessary. Also by just stripping the end of the RG174 to either 6.25 cm or 12.5 cm and taping or as I did Hot Gluing the one end to the GoPro rear door, and taping the other end to the iphone, ipad or other wifi device, it works a bit better.
Here is another 'how to' I ended up following.
http://paulillsley.com/GoPro_Underwa...tup/index.html
Does anybody know the siginificance of the 6.25 cm? I REALLY need to learn to read directions more carefully.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-26-2019, 08:10 PM
fishcommander fishcommander is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 22
Default GoPro Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkind View Post
I bought mine at Kohen Electronics in Red Deer.
Thank you! Ordered the wire. Great service at this place.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-27-2019, 01:36 AM
PlayDoh's Avatar
PlayDoh PlayDoh is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Strathmore/Calgary
Posts: 953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishcommander View Post
Thanx a lot for posting this information. Just tried my camera in the water and lost the signal immediately in the water. Rookie! Where did you get the wire?


Likely too late, but I got the antenna wire at MRO. They specialize in radio and electronics. Their not the cheapest place to buy things, yet I havenít compared them to anyone else in AB.
https://www.mroelectronics.com

Personally I found my GoPro didnít do that great underwater with anything but bright light. Not much does, but itís a bit worse than my B&W Marcum and Aqua-vu.

Yet if you have a GoPro 4 or higher with the ProTune it looks like itís much better for underwater. Thereís tons and tons of videos explaining the best settings, and I recommend watching some. The best resolution and highest frame rate isnít always the best. Specifically frame rate. Higher frame rates equal shorter capture time and that can often equal lower exposure, meaning less light.

What I found what worked best for using the GoPro, was to attach it to my Marcum camera. I picked it up for $150 I think a couple years ago, and with both cameras pointed the same way, I can record in color, and view in real time, without lag.

Lag is a real issue with wifi. Above or underwater, a GoPro with wifi can delay (lag) the video by a few seconds. Thatís not very effective for a fish camera, I found.

I spent quite a bit of money getting hdmi adapters and low profile, right angle USB mini adapters. Then on Glands to install in the dive housing to run the cables through and keep it waterproof. Yet in the end I never bothered trying to make it all work. A Marcum or Aqua-Vu are nice and portable and attaching the GoPro to it was the easiest and cheapest way to go.
__________________
Theres a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-10-2019, 10:42 PM
fishcommander fishcommander is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 22
Default GoPro Wifi

I got my camera working today! So excited to watch it go down the icy hole and still stay live on my phone! I'll post a link to instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/Bu2ryBxlokC/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.