Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 10-27-2019, 07:13 AM

Default Warming up a Diesel truck

I am new to the diesel community and when I drive to work its about 15 minutes of stop and go through the city. The truck doesn't come up to full temp even when its zero, my drive is over half finished when the cab starts to warm up. Are there any tip of tricks for holding more heat in the engine or heating it faster. Would using the exhaust break help?
I really don't want to let it ideal for extended times as I was told this is harder on the new diesels. (F350 2017)
The dealer also said that this new trucks where designed for this on-off operation. Is there any validity in those dealer statements?
Or am I fussing also about nothing?
Old 10-27-2019, 07:39 AM
Banned

Put a winter front on it, that will help. Installing a timed heater that works great as well. I just installed one for a friend with a dodge Cummins. I think he payed $900 for it. It was an espar heater

Last edited by RZR; 10-27-2019 at 07:57 AM.
Old 10-27-2019, 07:40 AM

Keep it plugged or install an Espar/Webasto heater with a timer.

I don’t think running it against an exhaust brake would be good for it.

Gerry Burnie
Old 10-27-2019, 07:47 AM

Could install an inline coolant heater to help warm your truck engine like a block heater does. They get really really hot, so that would help your truck get hot fair faster.

Or mentioned earlier put a cover on the grill.
Old 10-27-2019, 07:59 AM
Banned

As for the initial morning start up, IMO, there is nothing better than an oil pan heater, designed for sump capacity. Heat rises and the whole eng. is warmed. Had one on my plane and in sev hours the oil ran off the dipstick like water.
Not sure if you have plugins at work...????. Your present situation is not ideal for a diesel and short runs..
Old 10-27-2019, 08:02 AM