Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 04-30-2010, 12:32 PM

Default Morel Mushrooms 2010

April 30...just had a few wet days, now it's sunny (but not too warm).
Is it time to start looking for morels?
I'm east of Edmonton and hope to get out this weekend.
cheers.
HH
Old 04-30-2010, 12:38 PM

I think you may need a couple warm days. I head north to Smoky lake for maylong, and I can ussually find them then. Not sure exactly when they start coming up as I am new to picking myself, but I have found them every may long for the last few years
Last year being so dry did not yield very many but the ones that were there, were big.
I know this link is for the states but it gives you an idea of when they are being found. just add a week or so to the dates because we are north
http://thegreatmorel.com/2010.html

I still lose bait that way.

UPS will fondle your animals!!
Old 04-30-2010, 03:27 PM

May long weekend is usually the ealiest you would find them. But I think they will be out earlier this year, of course that depends on the weather.

Phenological connectors for golden morels are when Dandilions are in full bloom and Aspen, Cottonwood trees are leafing.
Old 04-30-2010, 09:44 PM

none down south so far,even in the open burn
Old 05-01-2010, 12:26 AM
Banned

I found quite a few up north already!!
Old 05-01-2010, 12:59 AM

wat does a morel mushroom look like ?
Old 05-01-2010, 06:34 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROAD HAMMER View Post

Let me do your work for you !

http://www.google.com/images?hl=en&s...=&oq=&gs_rfai=

Make sure you know what a false one looks like before eating any !
They have a sort of shiny surface and "brain like" .
Old 05-01-2010, 06:42 AM

Quote:
Like this,

thegungirl.ca @gmail.com
Old 05-01-2010, 09:42 AM

Thanks for puting up pics .I have seen them many times before but thought they were poison . So are they really good to eat, can you eat them raw or do they have to be cooked.
Old 05-01-2010, 12:48 PM