Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 11-28-2013, 07:29 PM

Default Suzuki trucks

I have questions about the little Suzuki 4x4 trucks . I have been looking for something small to haul a 12 ft boat & motor + fishing gear to the mountain lakes on trails / poor roads . I haven't seen many out there , are they any good ? Just thought I would throw the question out and get a few pros & cons from guys and gals that have used them . My wife suggested a side by side might do the trick but they are pricy and I would like street legal . Thanks
Old 11-28-2013, 07:39 PM

I used similar vehicles when I worked as a greenskeeper. If anything, ours were tougher and built more for what you have in mind than the suzukis. However I'd be reluctant to take them on poor roads mostly due to clearance. that being said, you could put a small lift on it, maybe some skid plates and find some mini aggressive tires, but that'd just make it as expensive, or more expensive, than a side by side.

furthermore, they may be street legal but I wouldn't take them on the highway. One deer and you're f***ed.

I'm guessing you don't drive a pickup or jeep or similar high clearance vehicle, maybe something to take into consideration when you buy your next one.

I'd definitely look at side by sides. Or go find a samurai or old jeep that you can stick the boat on top of.

instagram: @schrodo_of_the_shire
Old 11-28-2013, 07:39 PM

There was a guy at the Edmonton sportsman show a few years back, who had them rigged with quad tires and winches, and they were still cheaper than a stock SxS. Factor in the enclosed, heated cab, and the fact that they aren't legally an OHV, and they are an interesting option as a hunting rig.

At 6'5", I fit in a parked one, but grimaced at the thought of the beating my shins would take on the trail.
Old 11-28-2013, 07:43 PM